Burlsworth Trophy to Name 7th Winner



Burlsworth Trophy to Name 7th Winner on Dec. 5

Three finalists hail from Oklahoma, Northwestern and Washington State


WHO:                   The winner of the seventh annual Burlsworth Trophy will be announced Monday, Dec. 5 in Springdale, Ark. The Burlsworth Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding football player in America who began his career as a walk-on, and is presented by the Springdale Rotary Club. The three finalists are:

  • Baker Mayfield, JR, quarterback, University of Oklahoma
  • Austin Carr, SR, receiver, Northwestern University
  • Luke Falk, JR, quarterback, Washington State University


WHAT:                  The award is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, former All-American offensive lineman and former walk-on. This is the seventh year of the Burlsworth Trophy presentation and the second national collegiate football award to have originated in Arkansas.

Burlsworth’s life is also the subject of a major motion picture, “GREATER”, which was released earlier this year. 



WHEN:                 Monday, Dec. 5, 2016
Media interviews with the finalists: 10:30 – 11:15 a.m.
Presentation ceremony and lunch: 11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Media interviews with the winner: immediately following the ceremony


WHERE:               Northwest Arkansas Convention Center
1500 S. 48th St.
Springdale, Ark.


WHY:                    Brandon Burlsworth walked on to the Arkansas Razorback football team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was drafted with the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.


CONTACT:   John Engleman, Mitchell Communications Group, 479-443-4673,


Share This Post