The Official 2011 Winner Announcement Press Release


Burlsworth Trophy Winner Announced at Ceremony

Three Finalists Attend Announcement Dec. 9


The winner of the second annual Burlsworth Trophy will be announced Dec. 9 in Springdale, Ark. The Burlsworth Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding football player in America who began his career as a walk-on, and is presented by the Springdale Rotary Club. The three finalists are:
Austin Davis, SR, Quarterback, University of Southern Mississippi
Patrick Edwards, SR, Wide Receiver, University of Houston
Griff Whalen, SR, Wide Receiver, Stanford University


The award is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, former All-American offensive lineman and former walk-on. This is the second year of the Burlsworth Trophy presentation and the second national collegiate football award to have originated in Arkansas.


Friday, Dec. 9, 2011
Media Interviews with the finalists: 10:30 – 11:30 a.m.
Presentation Ceremony and Lunch: 11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.
Media Interviews with the winner: After the ceremony


Northwest Arkansas Convention Center
1500 S. 48th St.
Springdale, Ark.


Brandon Burlsworth walked on to the Arkansas Razorback football team in 1994, worked his way to being a three year starter and was named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was drafted with the 63rd overall pick to the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.


Marty Burlsworth,
Sarah Chadick, Mitchell Communications Group,