The Official 2011 Nominations Press Release


Burlsworth Trophy Announces Nominees

Former and current walk-ons making significant impact

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark., Nov. 15, 2011 – Today, The Burlsworth Trophy and the presenting sponsor, the Springdale (Ark.) Rotary Club, are excited to announce the 50 players nominated for The Burlsworth Trophy. The 2011 list includes team captains, All-Conference selections, and national statistical leaders from every conference in the nation. The Trophy is given to the most outstanding football player in America who began his career as a walk-on. A walk-on is defined as a player who began his first season of participation with a D1 (FBS) football program without financial aid of any kind from his university’s athletic department.

The 2010 inaugural winner was Georgia Tech Center Sean Bedford. Out of high school, no Division I program offered him a scholarship, so he chose Georgia Tech for its outstanding academic reputation and its engineering program. Once there, he decided to walk on to the football team. He eventually became a two-time first team All-ACC selection and led the way for a rushing offense that ranked No. 1 in the entire nation. Sporting News named the aerospace engineering major one of the 20 smartest athletes in the nation.

The 2011 Burlsworth Trophy nominees are:

Player Class Position School
Cameron Kastl SR Long Snapper Arizona State
Tyler Shoemaker SR Wide Receiver Boise State University
Jameson Frazier SR Outside Linebacker Brigham Young
Philip Price SR Offensive Tackle Clemson University
James Skelton JR Linebacker Colorado State
Alex King SR Punter Duke University
Andrew Bodenheimer JR Outside Receiver East Carolina University
Marcus Bartels SR Safety Florida Atlantic University
B.J. Finney FR Center Kansas State University
Lee Stalker SR Defensive Lineman Kent State University
Jeremiah Taylor SOPH Defensive End Marshall
Anthony Amos JR Wide Receiver Middle Tennessee
Brandon Wilson JR Linebacker Mississippi State University
David Ruffer SR Kicker Notre Dame
Nate Ebner SR Defensive Back Ohio State University
Bryson Rose JR Kicker Ole Miss
Mike Remmers SR Left Tackle Oregon State University
Kevin Ballinger SR Long Snapper Purdue University
Matt Nordstrom SR Linebacker Rice University
Chandler Jones SOPH Wide Receiver San Jose State University
Griff Whalen SR Wide Receiver Stanford University
Caleb Russell JR Linebacker Texas A&M
Andrew Abbott JR Cornerback UCLA
Will Lowery JR Defensive Back University of Alabama
John Bonano SR Kicker University of Arizona
Dylan Breeding JR Punter University of Arkansas
Ronnie Weaver SR Running Back University of Central Florida
Travis Sandersfeld SR Defensive Back University of Colorado
Johnny McEntee JR Quarterback University of Connecticut
David Lerner SR Punter University of Florida
Bryant Moniz SR Quarterback University of Hawaii
Patrick Edwards SR Wide Receiver University of Houston
Derek Dimke SR Kicker University of Illinois
Tom Nardo SR Defensive Tackle University of Iowa
Steven Johnson SR Linebacker University of Kansas
Craig McIntosh JR Kicker University of Kentucky
Mitch Huelsing JR Safety University of Memphis
Jordan Kovacs JR Safety University of Michigan
Trey Barrow JR Punter/Place Kicker University of Missouri
Mike Caputo SR Offensive Lineman University of Nebraska
Dominique Whaley JR Running Back University of Oklahoma
Chas Alecxih SR Defensive Tackle University of Pittsburgh
Dalton Wilson JR Fullback University of South Carolina
Gilbert “Chaz” Hine SR Center University of South Florida
Austin Davis SR Quarterback University of Southern Mississippi
Wesley Miller FR Safety University of Texas at El Paso
A.J. Lindeman JR Offensive Lineman University of Toledo
Trey Watts SOPH Running Back University of Tulsa
Ross Cumming SR Fullback University of Southern California
Jared Abbrederis SOPH Wide Receiver University of Wisconsin
Eric Moats SR Wide Receiver Utah State University

With the Burlsworth Trophy only in its second year, the award has become exactly what we envisioned. We are thrilled to see not only the quality of the young men and their work ethics, but these guys are incredible players,” said Marty Burlsworth, Brandon’s brother, and also
chairman and CEO of both The Burlsworth Foundation and The Burlsworth Trophy. “Each player has contributed greatly to his team and we look forward to getting to know the stories behind each one of this year’s nominees.”

*The Trophy is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth. Without any Division 1 scholarship offer, Brandon walked on to the Razorbacks team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter, and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.