Official 2010 Nominations Press Release


Nominees Announced for Inaugural Burlsworth Trophy

Award will recognize college football’s most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark., Nov. 18, 2010 – Nominees from across the country were announced today for the first annual Burlsworth Trophy. In honor of Brandon Burlsworth, former University of Arkansas walk-on and All-American offensive lineman, the award will be given to the collegiate player who began his career as a walk-on and has shown outstanding performance on the field. Nominees must have begun their first season of participation with a Division 1 (FBS) football program without financial aid of any kind from their athletic department.

The 2010 Burlsworth Trophy nominees are:

Player Class Position School
Andrew Abbott SOPH Cornerback UCLA
Howard Barbieri SR Center Rutgers University
Devin Barclay SR Place Kicker Ohio State University
Marcus Bartels JR Free Safety Florida Atlantic University
Sean Bedford SR Center Georgia Tech
Travis Bradshaw JR Safety Rice University
Dylan Breeding SOPH Punter University of Arkansas
Matt Brown SOPH Tailback Temple University
Derek Chard SR Long Snapper University of Connecticut
Tyler Clark SR Center Troy University
Austin Davis JR Quarterback University of Southern Miss
Bradie Ewing JR Fullback Wisconsin
John Fairbanks SR Center University of Florida
Daniel Graff SR Defensive Back LSU
Brett Greenwood SR Defensive Back University of Iowa
Daniel Hardy SR Tight End University of Idaho
Adam Harris JR Fullback Syracuse
George Helow SR Cornerback Ole Miss
Alex Henery SR Punter Nebraska
Michael Hodges SR Linebacker Texas A&M
Steven Johnson JR Linebacker Kansas
Levi Koskan JR Defensive End Utah State University
Jordan Kovacs JR Safety University of Michigan
Spencer Lanning SR Kicker University of South Carolina
Logan Link SR Safety Purdue University
Darryn Lewis SR Defensive Back San Diego State U.
Will Lowery SOPH Defensive Back University of Alabama
Josh McNary SR Defensive End Army
Bryant Moniz JR Quarterback University of Hawaii
Aaron Nichols SR Wide Receiver Oregon State University
Matt Nicholson SR Linebacker University of Houston
Dak Notestine SR Defensive Lineman Ohio University
Bradley Spencer Ortego SR Punter Univ. of Louisiana Lafayette
Joe Phillips SR Kicker University of Utah
William Powell SR Running Back Kansas State University
Trent Ratterree SR Tight End University of Oklahoma
Grant Ressel JR Place Kicker University of Missouri
Nick Reveiz SR Linebacker University of Tennessee
Andrew Rich SR Safety BYU
Anthony Santella SR Punter University of Illinois
Broderick Sargent SOPH Defensive End Colorado State
Josh Smith SR Defensive Lineman East Carolina University
Will Snyderwine JR Place Kicker Duke
Bryant Ward SR Fullback Oklahoma State University
Jake Williams SR Wide Receiver Iowa State
Justin Winters SR Inside Linebacker Buffalo
Ryan Winterswyk SR Defensive End Boise State University

“We are very excited to see so many nominees for the first year of this award,” said Marty Burlsworth, founder and CEO of the Burlsworth Foundation and brother of Brandon. “Like Brandon, all of these players have shown amazing work ethic and determination on and off the field.”

>Without one Division 1 scholarship offer, Brandon Burlsworth walked on to the Razorback team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.

Finalists will be named on Dec. 1 with the winner announced on Dec. 15. A banquet will be held in honor of the winner on Feb. 7, 2011 in Springdale, Ark. hosted by the Springdale Rotary Club.