CBS Sports Network’s Houston Nutt to Speak at Burlsworth Trophy Presentation


Winner to be named on Dec 7th at the Northwest Arkansas Convention Center

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark., Dec. 3, 2015 – CBS Sports Network commentator and former Arkansas Head Football Coach Houston Nutt will speak at the 2015 Burlsworth Trophy Presentation on Monday, December 7th at 11:30am. The Trophy is presented by the Springdale Rotary Club and will be held at the Northwest Arkansas Convention in Springdale.

Before joining the CBS Sports Network in 2012, Houston compiled a career record of 135-96 in 19 seasons as a head coach. He began his head coaching career at Murray State University in 1993. After leading the Racers to an 11-1 record in 1995, he was named Ohio Valley Conference Coach of the Year and was recognized with the Eddie Robinson National Division I-AA Coach of the Year Award.

Nutt is the second winningest coach in Razorback history, second only to legendary Coach Frank Broyles. He led the Razorbacks to seven bowl games, three Southeastern Conference Western Division titles, and averaged more than seven wins per season. In 1998, he was named National Coach of the Year and The Football News Division 1-A Coach of the year. He is also a three time SEC Coach of the Year (2001, 2006, 2008).

Houston played quarterback from 1977-81 at the University of Arkansas and later at Oklahoma State University, where he was also a member of the basketball team. Nutt and his wife Diana have four children, Houston III, twins Hailey and Hanna, and Haven.

The Burlsworth Trophy is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth. Without one D1 scholarship offer, Burlsworth walked on to the Razorback team in 1994, became a three-year starter, and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected with the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Brandon Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children who have limited opportunities.

The Burlsworth Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding college football player in America who began his career as a walk on.

Fans can cast their vote for the nation’s most outstanding player who began his career as a walk-on once per day. The GREATER Fan Vote counts as 5 percent during each round of voting, and it is combined with the results from the Selection Committee.

Burlsworth’s life is also the subject of a new major motion picture, “GREATER”, which will be released on January 22, 2016. The first official trailer for “GREATER” will have it’s worldwide debut at the Burlsworth Trophy Presentation, as well.

Share This Post