Burlsworth Trophy to Name 8th Winner on Dec. 4

Four finalists hail from Memphis, Oklahoma, Washington State and Wisconsin


WHO:              The winner of the eighth annual Burlsworth Trophy will be announced Monday, Dec. 4 in Springdale, Ark. The Burlsworth Trophy is awarded to the most outstanding football player in America who began his career as a walk-on, and is presented by the Springdale Rotary Club. The four finalists are:

  • Anthony Miller, SR, receiver, University of Memphis
  • Baker Mayfield, SR, quarterback, University of Oklahoma
  • Luke Falk, SR, quarterback, Washington State University
  • Troy Fumagalli, SR, tight end, University of Wisconsin


WHAT:             The award is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, former All-American offensive lineman and former walk-on. This is the eighth year of the Burlsworth Trophy presentation and the second national collegiate football award to have originated in Arkansas.


Brandon Burlsworth’s life is also the subject of a major motion picture, “GREATER”, which was released last year. 



WHEN:            Monday, Dec. 4, 2017

Media interviews with the finalists: 10:30 – 11:15 a.m.

Presentation ceremony and lunch: 11:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Media interviews with the winner: immediately following the ceremony


WHERE:           Northwest Arkansas Convention Center

                                1500 S. 48th St.

Springdale, Ark.


WHY:               Brandon Burlsworth walked on to the Arkansas Razorback football team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was drafted with the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.


CONTACT:   John Engleman, Mitchell , 479-305-1665,


Share This Post