Burlsworth Trophy Announces Nominees

Burlsworth Trophy Announces Nominees

Honoring the most outstanding player who began as a Walk-On


FAYETTEVILLE, AR, Nov. 1, 2022 – Today, the Burlsworth Trophy announced 81 players nominated from Division 1 (FBS) schools from across the country for the 2022 Burlsworth Trophy. In the award’s thirteenth year, the Trophy is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, former University of Arkansas Walk-On and All-American offensive lineman. Burlsworth’s life is also the subject of a major motion picture, “GREATER”, which was released in 2016.  The Burlsworth Trophy is given to the most outstanding football player in American who began his career as a Walk-On and has shown outstanding performance on the field. Each nominee must have begun his first season of participation with FBS (D1) football program without financial aid of any kind from his university’s athletic department.


The 2021 winner was linebacker Grant Morgan from the University of Arkansas. Morgan was one of three Burlsworth Trophy finalists in 2020 while earning Second-Team All-America honors from the Walter Camp Foundation and First-Team All-SEC recognition. He capped a historic career at Arkansas in 2021 as the school’s first-ever Burlsworth Trophy winner while also being named a finalist for the Jason Witten Collegiate Man of the Year Award. During the 2021 campaign, he was again one of the leading tacklers in the SEC and FBS eclipsing the 100-tackle mark for the second straight year.


The 2022 Burlsworth Trophy nominees are:


School Player Position Class
Air Force Isaac Cochran OG SR
Arizona Dorian Singer WR Soph
Arizona State Case Hatch FB SR
Arkansas Hudson Clark DB JR
Arkansas State TW Ayers DL JR
Auburn Jacob Quattlebaum LS SR
Boise State Jonah Dalmas K/P JR
Bowling Green Demetrius Hardamon OLB SR
Buffalo Shaun Dolac LB JR
BYU Payton Wilgar LB JR
Cal Dario Longhetto PK SR
Charlotte Chris Reynolds QB SR
Coastal Carolina Jairan Parker LB SR
Eastern Michigan Hassan Beydoun WR SR
Florida Adam Mihalek K RSF
Florida Atlantic Nick Weber C SR
Florida State Treshaun Ward RB Soph
Georgia Stetson Bennett QB SR
Georgia Southern Alex Raynor PK JR
Georgia State Tucker Gregg RB SR
Georgia Tech Joe Fusile OL RSF
Hawaii Eliki Tanuvasa C SR
Illinois Michael Marchese TE SR
Indiana Matt Hohlt LB RSF
Iowa Joe Evans DE SR
Iowa State Jared Rus TE SR
Kansas Quentin Skinner WR Soph
Kansas State Austin Moore LB JR
Kent State Andrew Glass PK Soph
Kentucky Colin Goodfellow P SR
Louisiana Jordan Quibodeaux LB SR
Louisiana Tech Julien Lewis WR RSF
LSU Josh Williams RB JR
Maryland Greg China-Rose DL SR
Memphis Caden Prieskorn TE JR
Michigan State Bryce Baringer P SR
Minnesota Axel Ruschmeyer OL SR
Mississippi State Sherman Timbs LB SR
Missouri Barrett Banister WR SR
Nebraska Trent Hixson C SR
New Mexico Cody Moon LB Soph
North Carolina State Thayer Thomas WR SR
North Texas Austin Aune QB JR
Northern Illinois Devonte O’Malley DT Soph
Notre Dame Jon Sot P/H SR
Ohio State Bradley Robinson LS SR
Oklahoma Drake Stoops WR SR
Oklahoma State Tanner Brown K SR
Old Dominion Xavier Black C Soph
Ole Miss Casey Kelly TE JR
Oregon Ryan Walk OL SR
Oregon State Jaydon Grant DB SR
Penn State Barney Amor P SR
Purdue Aidan O’Connell QB SR
Rice Ari Broussard RB JR
Rutgers Hollin Pierce OL Soph
San Diego State Jack Browning KP SR
SMU Beau Barker WR JR
South Alabama Reggie Smith OL JR
South Carolina Payton Mangrum WR Soph
Stanford Brycen Tremayne WR SR
Syracuse Andre Szmyt K SR
Tennessee Matthew Salansky LS JR
Texas A&M Connor Choate DS SR
Texas State Seth Keller K JR
Texas Tech Xavier White WR SR
Toledo Nick Rosi OL Soph
Troy Carlton Martial LB SR
Tulane Casey Glover P/KO/H JR
UAB Noah Wilder LB SR
UMass Tanner Davis S SR
USC Denis Lynch PK RSF
Utah Bryson Barnes QB Soph
Utah State Chandler Dolphin OC SR
UTSA Jared Sackett PK SR
Virginia Tech Kaleb Smith WR SR
Washington State Armani Marsh N SR
West Virginia Casey Legg K JR
Western Kentucky Kye Robichaux RB Soph
Wisconsin John Torchio S SR
Wyoming John Hoyland PK Soph



“All of these young men had the dream to play college football at the highest level”, said Marty Burlsworth, President and CEO of the Burlsworth Trophy and older brother of Brandon Burlsworth. “And they had the work ethic and devotion to make that dream come true. They overcame the odds and achieved beyond others’ expectations. That’s what the Burlsworth Trophy is all about.”


Without one D1 scholarship offer, Brandon Burlsworth walked on at the University of Arkansas in 1994. He became a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children who have limited opportunities.


The Burlsworth Trophy award ceremony to honor the three finalists and to announce the 2022 winner will on December 5th at 7:00pm CST at Crystal Bridges Museum in Bentonville, Arkansas.


Share This Post