Official 2013 Nominations Press Release


Nominees Announced for 2013 Burlsworth Trophy

53 student-athletes who walked on to football programs recognized

SPRINGDALE, Ark., Nov. 12, 2013 – Burlsworth Trophy and presenting sponsor, the Springdale (Ark.) Rotary Club, are pleased to announce the 53 student-athletes selected as nominees for the 2013 Burlsworth Trophy. The 2013 list includes standout players and national statistical leaders from every major conference in the nation.

The Burlsworth Trophy is given to the most outstanding collegiate football player who began his career as a walk-on. A walk-on is defined as a player who began his first season of participation with a Division I (FBS) football program without financial aid of any kind from his university’s athletic department.

The 2012 winner was Penn State quarterback Matt McGloin, who set nine school records during his senior year, throwing for 3,266 yards and 24 touchdowns while leading the Nittany Lions to an 8-4 record. McGloin went undrafted but made the Oakland Raiders roster this year and is currently the backup to starter Terrelle Pryor.
Previous Burlsworth Trophy winners were Southern Mississippi quarterback Austin Davis in 2011, and Georgia Tech center Sean Bedford in 2010.

The trophy is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, who walked on to the Arkansas Razorbacks in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL Draft but was killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.

“The 2013 class of Burlsworth Trophy nominees are an outstanding group of young men,” said Marty Burlsworth, CEO and founder of the Burlsworth Foundation and brother of Brandon. “They represent their schools well and embody everything that the Burlsworth Trophy stands for: hard word, dedication and a commitment to excellence.”

The 2013 Burlsworth Trophy nominees are:

Player Class Position School
Cody Mandell SR Punter Alabama
Jared Tevis JR Safety Arizona
Gannon Conway SR Defensive Tackle Arizona State
Alan D’Appollonio JR Snapper Arkansas
Charleston Girley Soph Defensive Back Arkansas State
Trent Fisher JR Safety Auburn
Jamill Smith SR Wide Receiver Ball State
Clay Fuller JR Wide Receiver Baylor
Ryan Burbrink Soph Wide Receiver Bowling Green
JD Falslev SR Wide Receiver BYU
Brandon Alexander JR Free Safety Central Florida
Justin Cherocci JR Linebacker Central Michigan
Chandler Catanzaro SR Kicker Clemson
Ryan Iverson SR Snapper Colorado
Jared Roberts JR Kicker Colorado State
Cole Wagner SR Punter Connecticut
Justin Hardy JR Inside Wide Receiver East Carolina
Jonathan Norton SR Defensive Back Fresno State
Jonathan Wallace SR Running Back Florida Atlantic
Robert Godhigh SR Running Back Georgia Tech
Luke Stice Soph Fullback Houston
Mike Meyer SR Placekicker Iowa
Ryan Mueller JR Defensive End Kansas State
Casey Pierce JR Tight End Kent State
Kelly Mason Soph Long Snapper Kentucky
Seth Fruge SR Linebacker LSU
Chris Jasperse JR Center Marshall
Brandon Hayes SR Running Back Memphis
Jordan Holder SR Wide Receiver Mississippi
Max Copeland SR Left Guard Missouri
Spencer Long SR Offensive Guard Nebraska
Davis Cazares SR Free Safety New Mexico State
Zach Gentry SR Linebacker North Carolina State
Craig Cataline JR Linebacker Ohio State
Aaron Ripkowski JR Fullback Oklahoma
Michael Kutzler SR Linebacker Rice University
Chad Young SR Fullback San Diego State
Chandler Jones SR Wide Receiver San Jose State University
Sidney Rhodes JR Cornerback South Carolina
Marvin Kloss JR Kicker South Florida
David Parry SR Defensive Tackle Stanford
Jon Koontz SR Defensive End TCU
Cody Booth SR Left Tackle Temple
Travis Labhart SR Wide Receiver Texas A & M
Steven Kurfehs SR Linebacker Texas-San Antonio
Charlie Will Tuttle JR Offensive Center Texas State
Baker Mayfield FR Quarterback Texas Tech
Trey Watts SR Running Back Tulsa
Jake Doughty SR Linebacker Utah State
Jack Tyler SR Linebacker Virginia Tech
Spencer Bishop SR Tight End Wake Forest
Elliott Bosch SR Center Washington State
Jared Abbrederis SR Wide Receiver Wisconsin

For more information about the Burlsworth Trophy, visit