2013 Trophy Finalists

2013 Burlsworth Trophy Finalists

Jared Abbrederis, SR, Wide Receiver – University of Wisconsin

In 2011, Jared was named honorable mention All-American punt returner, ranking 3rd in the nation. He was also a consensus honorable mention All-Big Ten WR, leading his team with 933 yards. In 2012 he averaged 72.9 receiving yards/game which ranked him 2nd in the nation, and ranked 4th nationally with 837 total receiving yards. In 2013, he leads the Badgers and is 4th in the Big Ten in both receptions and receiving yards with 54 and 849 respectively, and is a Mid-season top 5 pick for the Belitnikoff Award. Jared is a 3-time Nominee and 2-time Semi-Finalist for the Burlsworth Trophy.

Max Copeland, SR, Guard – University of Missouri

When Max arrived on campus in 2009, he quickly established himself as one of the hardest workers on the team. After working on the scout team for 3 years, he started 11 games at guard in 2012, and after the season he was given the Unsung Hero Award for his outstanding dedication to the program. In 2013, Max is closing out his career in style, leading his team on the field and in the locker room. He is a crucial part of a Mizzou team that has been one of the biggest surprises in all of college football. Missouri is currently 9-1, 5-1 in the SEC, and ranked 8th in the BCS.

Trey Watts, SR, Running Back – University of Tulsa

As a sophomore, Trey burst onto the scene leading his team with 1,629 all-purpose yards. The next year, in 2012, he earned 2nd team honors as a kick returner and honorable mention as a running back for the All-CUSA Team. He also earned MVP of the CUSA Championship Game and Liberty Bowl. In his senior year he was named to the Watch Lists for the Doak Walker, Maxwell, and Paul Hornung Awards. He has amassed 1,026 rushing and 372 receiving, while ranking 5th in the nation in all-purpose yards this year. He ranks 2nd in school history with over 5,000 all-purpose yards. Trey is the son of former Oklahoma Sooners’ quarterback and Oklahoma Congressman, J. C. Watts.