2012 Burlsworth Trophy Winner Has Big NFL Debut


Marty Burlsworth, Chairman/CEO

2012 Burlsworth Trophy Winner Has Big NFL Debut

The Burlsworth Trophy congratulates its 2012 winner, Matt McGloin, for his outstanding performance Sunday in his first start as quarterback for the Oakland Raiders.

The former Penn State quarterback threw for three touchdowns and 197 yards in the Raiders 28-23 victory over the Houston Texans.

The Burlsworth Trophy is given to the most outstanding collegiate football player who began his career as a walk-on. The trophy is named in honor of Brandon Burlsworth. Without one Division I scholarship offer, Brandon walked on to the Arkansas Razorbacks in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL Draft but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later.

The 2013 Burlsworth Trophy ceremony is scheduled for Dec. 9 in Springdale, Ark. The event is sponsored by the Springdale Rotary Club. For more information on the award visit burlsworthtrophy.com.